The large auditorium of Excellence Hotel, Ogba, could hardly contain the large turn out of teachers, public servants, students and stakeholders in the education sectors, as they gathered to witness the epoch-making 10th award ceremony in honour of outstanding teachers, non-teaching staff and students in Education District I, Agege Chairman of the occasion.

Honourable Yinka Ogundimu, Chairman, Lagos State House Committee of Finance spoke on the significance of educating the Nigerian Child.

He noted that though education is very profitable its requires adequate financing to facilitate the growth of the sector. The Law Maker called for collaboration among major stakeholders while commending the State Government for its laudable strides in moving the sector forward through rehabilitation and construction of schools provision of furniture among others.

Tutor-General/Permanent Secretary, Education District I, Agege Dr. (Mrs.) Olayinka Ayandele, dedicated successes recorded to the 5,000 workforce, dedicated Principals, Teachers, Non-teaching Staff and students, saying the district is committed to offering holistic and functional education. She explained that school programmes have been carefully planned to cater for all students with diverse gifts, skills, challenges, social backgorunds and peculiarities, to ensure stable foundation for inclusive growth, adding that this is in line with the theme of this year’s event, “Making Education Functional for All”.

Representative of the Deputy Governor, Mrs. Adejoke Gbeleyi of Private Education and Special Programmes Directorate, Ministry of Education, observed that the annual merit award has helped in rewarding excellence due to the commitment of both teaching and non-teaching staff. She therefore charged teachers to uphold professional ethics and be exemplary role models.

Winners emerged in diverse categories including, life-time achievers award clinched by Retired TG/PS District 1 – Mrs. Florence Ogunfidodo; Best Student, Senior Tobi Opadotun of Vetland School and Junior School, Callistus Okonkwo Ozuchukwu of Ijiaye Housing Estate School.

Honourable Yinka Ogundimu also reward the best Senior school, Ijaiye Housing Estate Senior Grammar School with the sum of N250,000.00 while the Best District staff Senior and Junior school went to Adefowoju, A. A. of the TG/PS Office and Afolabi of Schools Administration.